The Rise of the Fox: 1950-1982

Now available in paperback, eBook, and hardcover

Discover the captivating journey of Eric Carr, the enigmatic second drummer of KISS, in the enthralling biography, The Rise of the Fox: 1950-1982. This spellbinding first volume of the unauthorized biographical series Eric Carr Revealed, takes you deep into the humble life of a shy young boy who found solace in drumming, endured years of struggling on the club circuit, and eventually soared to fame as the drummer for the iconic rock band just as KISS was heading for disaster. Every twist and turn is brought to life in vivid detail through meticulous research and exclusive interviews.

This comprehensive biography reveals:

  • the creation of Eric’s legendary superhero Fox persona,
  • an exhilarating world tour, and
  • explores the complex dynamics between bandmates Ace Frehley, Gene Simmons, and Paul Stanley.

Drawing on rare interviews, management memos and itineraries, and the firsthand recollections of those who witnessed Eric’s journey, The Rise of the Fox immerses readers in the world of a drummer destined for greatness. Explore the multifaceted facets of Eric’s life, such as drumming, the shifting music landscape, the influence of popular culture, the evolving economic climate, and the psychological factors that shaped Eric’s path.

This book is an essential read for KISS fans, hard rock enthusiasts, and anyone captivated by compelling rags-to-riches tales. Join us on an unforgettable adventure as we unravel the extraordinary story of one of rock music’s greatest drummers in The Rise of the Fox: 1950-1982.


What’s new


Janet Symmons grew up, worked, and studied while listening to a plethora of hard rock bands. She takes a scholarly approach to music biographies, as seen in her first book,The Rise of the Fox: 1950-1982. This is the inaugural instalment in the Eric Carr Revealed series. She holds Bachelor of Education and Master of Education degrees from Brock University and a Doctor of Philosophy in Education from the University of Victoria. Janet lives in British Columbia, Canada.

  • Jan 1, 2024: Guest appearance on Barstools & Bandtalk podcast
  • Dec 27, 2023: Guest appearance On the Flythe podcast
  • Nov 9, 2023: The Rise of the Fox is released worldwide in paperback and hardcover on Amazon
  • September 23, 2023: The Rise of the Fox is released worldwide as an eBook on Amazon

Sign up for Janet’s quarterly email newsletter to receive news about book releases, events, exclusive content, and other interesting content.


Contact address: c/o Spirit of Inquiry, P.O. Box 44114, RPO Gorge, Victoria, BC, V9A 7K1

Click here to email Janet